Bioshock Infinite Review

Posted on 3/29/2013 by with 10 comments

BioShockLogo

Developer: Irrational Games/2K Games

Publisher: 2K Games

BioShockInfinite 2013-03-26 13-46-41-83Introduction

For an existing Bioshock fan it’s easy to say what Bioshock Infinite is like, for a new fan that’s a whole new ball of wax. This game encompasses a strange universe that can be confusing and just downright weird at times.

Bioshock is a first person shooter in a wild alternative universe and imaginative world filled with steampunk and magic. This latest version takes place around the fictional city of Columbia high in the clouds above the USA.

I will try to write this in a way that I will not spoil too much of the story of this game as it is well written and deserves to be played through without knowing the outcome.

BioShockInfinite 2013-03-28 10-48-37-01

Game Play

First off let me say the game has familiar controls as with any first person shooter and that is good because it gets you off and running fast. The game has one difference in this game is that your secondary weapon is what is called a “vigor”. These vigor’s are a potion which enable you to use a kind of magical ability.

The overall goal is to save Elizabeth from Comstock’s prison and as a companion she is very helpful while you are in combat she will find ammo, health and, salts needed to use your vigor’s. Elizabeth also has a talent of opening tears in the fabric of the universe allowing you to travel between different realities.

You are supposed to deliver Elizabeth as payment for a gambling debt that you couldn’t pay. You will have to play through the game yourself to see if this ever happens.

This latest installment of the game starts off in 1912 with you in a rowboat off the coast of Maine. You are let off the boat at the base of lighthouse, with nothing left to do but explore this new place. The only clue you have is a cigar box with a few belongs, pictures, and a pistol.

You push on into the lighthouse only to find death and destruction throughout the building. Finding a blood trail leading you to a tortured and badly beaten dead body. You force yourself to push on passed the corpse and make you way to the very top of the lighthouse.

At the top a small puzzle is the key to enter the light housing. Once inside the housing the floor lurks up to reveal a chair. Without hesitation you seat down and bands lock you in as you struggle to get loose. Fighting the band is impossible. Just as you begin to wonder what will happen next the walls close in on you and the entire house is shot off up in the heavens.

As you fly through the air eventually you find you are being transported to a world in the clouds a floating city in the air made of blimps and floating buildings. As you land and enter the strange world you will soon realize this world is not like where you came from.

The floating city called Columbia is ruled by a so called prophet Comstock. This city succeeded from the Union not wanting to change its ways the way the USA did. This city is full of familiar American history the good and the bad just presented in different ways.

We will find out that the city was built by the US government in the late 1800’s to be used as the world’s fair, but those plans were put on hold as the city disappeared into the clouds. The city then fell into Comstock’s rule with only a ragtag group of loyalists putting up a stand and fighting when needed to keep their freedom.

One of the greatest things in game is the rail car tracks in the sky that transport goods and people around the city can be used by sliding down them as your own form of transportation.

Battling it out with Comstock’s thugs and the thugs of other realities is a challenge but the world and characters are presented so well it is well worth playing through it.

BioShockInfinite 2013-03-26 14-03-16-00

Graphics

The graphics in this game are amazing to say the least. The world created is something that looks it could have been taken right out old pictures and is really believable.  The animations are smooth and a models do a good job presenting characters from the early 1900’s.

I wouldn’t say this game has the best graphics of any out there right now, but what I will say is they all work together perfectly and that says a lot. It shows this game wasn’t thrown together with recycled models and parts from earlier installments

BioShockInfinite 2013-03-26 13-55-50-11

Sounds

As with all the Bioshock games the sounds a great at time I even looked over my shoulder wonder if there really was someone coming up behind me. The surround sounds are quite amazing and will have you looking around at time to see where it came from.

The voice over work is great and it really gives you a look into the world of Colombia and why the things are the way they are.

The game is filled with great music. Make sure you listen closely you will hear songs and music that was reproduced to sound like it was from the early 1900’s. One that stood out is the song “Tainted Love” that was redone with a woman singing it as it would have been in 1912.

Bottom line the sounds and music in game are top notch.

BioShockInfinite 2013-03-26 14-21-38-32 BioShockInfinite 2013-03-26 13-59-37-20

Verdict

It isn’t very often that a game like Bioshock Infinite comes alone and blows me away, but this game has it all! This is one of the best games I have played in a long time.

Is the game perfect? Not at all but they have put together a solid game here.

One of the problems I have with this game is the auto save feature, if that is a feature. This is a hindrance for me because you never can tell when your game is saved. So you might get screwed a bit and have re-complete parts due when the game saved.

The only other issue people might have with this game are the subjects that are discussed in game which include racism, fighting robots crafted as former presidents, religious fanaticism, and politics that are sure to get some ones blood boiling. If that means that much too you probably shouldn’t be playing video games anyway.

A friend asked me if I was offended by some of the subject matter in game and at first I was a bit apprehensive to answer that, but after all is only a game. As an American and a veteran I was kind of shocked to be shooting at former presidents in robot form, but hey they shot first! Once again if this is too much for you pick a different game.

This game is highly recommended it has an immerse world and great story to go with it, overall Bioshock Infinite is a great game you will not be disappointed.

Verdict 6 of 6

6pack

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 responses to Bioshock Infinite Review

  1. On April 4th, 2013 at 8:20 pm , Saevus said...

    I liked this latest bioshock game, not as much as the previous one to be honest, but still this game can really make us feel like we are inside the game, the sounds, the graphics, everything is so well put together that we end up falling in love with this game.

  2. On April 4th, 2013 at 8:29 pm , Sean K said...

    I think it can easily win game of the year, I loved it. The auto save feature was quite annoying though, but I think the purpose was so that it was not too easy just to save and be right back where you want to be, it added more difficulty, especially in 1999 mode.

  3. On April 4th, 2013 at 8:30 pm , Krystle(Baking Beauty) said...

    I love games with a great storyline like this. I’m not super concerned about the graphics, as long as it is east to follow. Thanks for the review I think I’ll pick it up!

  4. On April 4th, 2013 at 8:31 pm , zeramera said...

    This game has familiar controls as with any because I am first person shooter and that is good because it gets me off and running fast. It’ sound quality is high and the graphics in this game are amazing to say the least.

  5. On April 23rd, 2013 at 5:59 pm , купить авиабилет онлайн said...

    Ι sеldom commеnt, howеver i ԁid ѕome seагсhing and wounԁ uρ heгe Bіoshoсκ ӏnfinіte Rеѵіew | Beеr аnd Joyѕtiсκѕ.

    And I аctually do have a fеw quеstіons for you іf you dоn’t mind. Is it just me or does it look like a few of the comments appear like left by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are writing on additional sites, I’ԁ
    like to keеp up with evеrуthіng fresh you haѵe to post.

    Ϲоuld you lіst of the completе urls of youг
    social sites lіκe уour linkedin prοfile, Facebook pаge or twittеr feeԁ?

  6. On April 23rd, 2013 at 9:40 pm , Chris said...

    Our fans are great!

    Right now I only write for this site. I use the social media links provided on the site.

    My personal social media links are personal.

    Thanks for reading.
    Chris

  7. On June 21st, 2013 at 3:31 pm , Luffy88 said...

    Dude I Love Gaming And BioShock is My faverite game Of All time, ot to mention infinite and system shock 2. I have To Say you review is Fucking Awesome. I think I will play the Game Again. Great Review. Keep it Up Bro

  8. On June 21st, 2013 at 4:03 pm , Chris said...

    Thanks Luffy

  9. On August 24th, 2013 at 12:50 am , Mark Quinn said...

    This cooks to be coded like a game I’d be interested in.

  10. On August 24th, 2013 at 9:12 am , Chris said...

    BioShock Infinite is a great story and game all rolled into one. The only knock I have against the game is the main story is short, but still a great game to experience.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

« Back home